The 31st Circuit Judicial Commission selected three nominees for the circuit judge position in Greene County created by the retirement of Judge J. Dan Conklin. The nominees are:

Jason Brown Mark Powell Margaret Holden
Jason R. Brown Mark A. Powell Margaret Holden

The commission has submitted the panel to Gov. Jay Nixon, who will have 60 days to appoint one of the nominees as circuit judge.

For more information, click here to read the press release.

Gov. Jay Nixon appointed James M. Dowd to serve as a judge for the Eastern District of the Missouri Court of Appeals last week. Dowd, an attorney who has practiced law in St. Louis for more than 20 years, will fill the vacancy on the appellate court created by the retirement of Judge Glenn A. Norton.

“Jim Dowd is a highly respected attorney with more than two decades of experience in the courtroom,” Gov. Nixon said. “I am pleased to make this appointment so he can put his legal experience and expertise to use on behalf of the people of Missouri from the appellate bench.”

For more information, read the press release here.

Pursuant to Missouri Supreme Court Rule 10.28(d), the 31st Judicial Circuit Commission releases the following information relating to the applicants for the Circuit Judge position created by the retirement of Judge J. Dan Conklin. There are 8 applicants: 2 men and 6 women, 1 presently employed in the private sector and 7 presently employed in the public sector. The applicants’ mean age is 48 years.

Also pursuant to Rule 10.28(d), the Commission announces it will interview all 8 applicants.

The applicants are:
Becky Borthwick
Jason Brown
Sarah Donelan
Wendy Garrison
Margaret Holden
Ami Miller
Mark Powell
Nancy Price

The Commission will conduct interviews starting at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, June 11, 2015, at the Missouri Court of Appeals, 300 Hammons Parkway, Third Floor Courtroom, Springfield, Missouri. The public is invited to attend and observe interviews. The Commission will meet immediately after interviews are completed on June 11, 2015, in the Third Floor Conference Room, to select three nominees from this applicant pool for the governor’s consideration.

The members of the Thirty-First Judicial Circuit Commission are: Chief Judge William W. Francis, Jr., Andrew Bennett, Steve Garner, Steven Stepp and Joann Hosmer.